Pakistan creates five SEZs along China-Pakistan Economic Corridor

The federal government of Pakistan has upgraded five industrial estates to special economic zone status as part of its commitment to the China-Pakistan Economic Corridor (CPEC) project. The five industrial estate in question are Multan (Phase 2), Rahim Yar, Bhalwal, Rawalpindi and Dera Ghazi Khan. The decision to upgrade will create more than 150,000 jobs and attract billions of rupees in investment, the Chairman of the Punjab Industrial Estates Development and Management Company SM Tanveer said.